Alphabetical List of States

By: Robert Thomson

Alabama (AL)
Capital: Montgomery
Statehood: December 14, 1819
Yellowhammer State

Alaska (AK)
Capital: Juneau
Statehood: January 3, 1959
The Last Frontier

Arizona (AZ)
Capital: Phoenix
Statehood: February 14, 1912
The Grand Canyon State

Arkansas (AR)
Capital: Little Rock
Statehood: June 15, 1836
The Natural State

California (CA)
Capital: Sacramento
Statehood: September 9, 1850
The Golden State

Colorado (CO)
Capital: Denver
Statehood: August 1, 1876
The Centennial State

Connecticut (CT)
Capital: Hartford
Statehood: January 9, 1788
The Constitution State

Delaware (DE)
Capital: Dover
Statehood: December 7, 1787
The Diamond State; The First State

Florida (FL)
Capital: Tallahassee
Statehood: March 3, 1845
The Sunshine State

Georgia (GA)
Capital: Atlanta
Statehood: January 2, 1788
The Peach State, The Empire State of the South

Hawaii (HI)
Capital: Honolulu
Statehood: August 21, 1959
The Aloha State

Idaho (ID)
Capital: Boise
Statehood: July 3, 1890
The Gem State

Illinois (IL)
Capital: Springfield
Statehood: December 3, 1818
The Prairie State

Indiana (IN)
Capital: Indianapolis
Statehood: December 11, 1816
The Hoosier State

Iowa (IA)
Capital: Des Moines
Statehood: December 28, 1814
The Hawkeye State

Kansas (KS)
Capital: Topeka
Statehood: January 29, 1861
The Sunflower State; The Jayhawk State

Kentucky (KY)
Capital: Frankfort
Statehood: June 1, 1792
The Bluegrass State

Louisiana (LA)
Capital: Baton Rouge
Statehood: April 30, 1812
The Pelican State

Maine (ME)
Capital: Augusta
Statehood: March 15, 1820
The Pine Tree State

Maryland (MD)
Capital: Annapolis
Statehood: April 28, 1788
The Free State; The Old Line State

Massachusetts (MA)
Capital: Boston
Statehood: February 6, 1788
The Bay State; The Old Colony State

Michigan (MI)
Capital: Lansing
Statehood: January 26, 1837
The Wolverine State

Minnesota (MN)
Capital: St. Paul
Statehood: May 11, 1858
The Northstar State, The Gopher State, The Land of 10,000 Lakes

Mississippi (MS)
Capital: Jackson
Statehood: December 10, 1817
Bloom of the (Evergreen) Magnolia

Missouri (MO)
Capital: Jefferson City
Statehood: August 10, 1821
The Show-Me State

Montana (MT)
Capital: Helena
Statehood: November 8, 1889
The Treasure State

Nebraska (NE)
Capital: Lincoln
Statehood: March 1, 1867
The Cornhusker State; The Beef State

Nevada (NV)
Capital: Carson City
Statehood: October 31, 1864
The Sagebrush State; The Silver State, The Battle Born State

New Hampshire (NH)
Capital: Concord
Statehood: June 21, 1788
The Granite State

New Jersey (NJ)
Capital: Trenton
Statehood: December 18, 1787
The Garden State

New Mexico (NM)
Capital: Santa Fe
Statehood: January 6, 1912
The Land of Enchantment

New York (NY)
Capital: Albany
Statehood: July 26, 1788
The Empire State

North Carolina (NC)
Capital: Raleigh
Statehood: November 21, 1789
The Tar Heel State

North Dakota (ND)
Capital: Bismarck
Statehood: November 2, 1889
The Sioux State; The Flickertail State; Peace Garden State; Rough Rider State

Ohio (OH)
Capital: Columbus
Statehood: March 1, 1803
Buckeye State

Oklahoma (OK)
Capital: Oklahoma City
Statehood: November 16, 1907
The Sooner State

Oregon (OR)
Capital: Salem
Statehood: February 14, 1859
The Beaver State

Pennsylvania (PA)
Capital: Harrisburg
Statehood: December 12, 1787
The Keystone State

Rhode Island (RI)
Capital: Providence
Statehood: May 29, 1790
The Ocean State

South Carolina (SC)
Capital: Columbia
Statehood: May 23, 1788
The Palmetto State

South Dakota (SD)
Capital: Pierre
Statehood: November 2, 1889
Mount Rushmore State; The Coyote State

Tennessee (TN)
Capital: Nashville
Statehood: June 1, 1796
The Volunteer State

Texas (TX)
Capital: Austin
Statehood: December 29, 1845
The Lone Star State

Utah (UT)
Capital: Salt Lake City
Statehood: January 4, 1896
The Beehive State

Vermont (VT)
Capital: Montpelier
Statehood: March 4, 1791
The Green Mountain State

Virginia (VA)
Capital: Richmond
Statehood: June 25, 1788
The Old Dominion; The Mother of Presidents

Washington (WA)
Capital: Olympia
Statehood: November 11, 1889
The Evergreen State

West Virginia (WV)
Capital: Charleston
Statehood: June 20, 1863
The Mountain State

Wisconsin (WI)
Capital: Madison
Statehood: May 29, 1848
The Badger State

Wyoming (WY)
Capital: Cheyenne
Statehood: July 10, 1890
The Equality State

Article Directory:

| More

Please click these links if you want to know more about alphabetical list of states or state abbreviation list in general.

Please Rate this Article


Not yet Rated

Click the XML Icon Above to Receive Historical Articles Articles Via RSS!

Powered by Article Dashboard