What Is The Triple Crown In Horse Racing

By: Gen Wright

The Triple Crown is actually the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing. This horse racing consists of three races for three-year-old thoroughbred horses. There are many Triple Crown races all over the world, and each one consists of three prestigious thoroughbred races.

For thoroughbred horses, the greatest achievement is winning all the three races in the Triple Crown. This is not surprising since there are many great thoroughbreds around and winning all three races is a statement of superiority and excellence.

Triple Crown races in different parts of the world are participated in by home grown thoroughbreds and thoroughbreds from prestigious stables. Thus, winning the Triple Crown is indeed a very rare accomplishment. Not only will these horses be competing with one another, but these horses are competing with the best.

In the United States, the Triple Crown is composed of the Kentucky Derby in Louisville, Kentucky; the Preakness Stakes in Baltimore, Maryland; and the Belmont Stakes in Elmont, New York. The Kentucky Derby is run at a distance of 1 1/4 miles, while the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes are run at 1 3/16 and 1 1/2 miles respectively. According to history, no other horse has ever won the United States Triple Crown since 1978. In addition, aside from the US Triple Crown, there is also the Triple Tiara, which consists of the Acorn Stakes in Belmont Park; Mother Goose Stakes in Belmont Park; and Coaching Club Oaks also in Belmont Park.

In the United Kingdom, the Triple Crown consists of the Epsom Derby in Epsom, Surrey; the 2000 Guineas Stakes in Newmarket, Suffolk; and the St. Leger Stakes in Doncaster, Yorkshire. The Epsom Derby is run at 2,423 meters, while the 2000 Guineas Stakes and the St. Leger Stakes are run at 1609 and 2937 meters respectively.

On the other hand, in Japan, there are two sets of races which are considered as Triple Crowns. These two sets include the Japanese Triple Crown and the Japanese Fillies' Triple Crown. The Japanese Triple Crown is made up of the Satsuki Sho in Funabashi, Chiba; the Tokyo Yushun in Fuchu, Tokyo; and
the Kikuka Sho in Kyoto, Kyoto.

These three Japanese Triple Crown races are also known as the Japanese Derby, the Japanese 2000 Guineas, and the Japanese St. Leger. In other words, the Japanese Triple Crown is more or less patterned after the United Kingdom's.

Correspondingly, the Japanese Fillies' Triple Crown consists of the Oka Sho in Takarazuka, Hyogo; the Yushun Himba in Fuchu, Tokyo; and the Shuka Sho in Kyoto, Kyoto.

There are other also Triple Crown races that are being initiated in other parts of the world such as Venezuela, Australia, Macau, Chile, Puerto Rico, Hongkong, Canada, Germany, Uruguay, Ireland, and Ecuador.

Article Directory: http://www.articletrunk.com

| More

One example of Horse Racing Betting is the Trifecta Bet.

Please Rate this Article


Not yet Rated

Click the XML Icon Above to Receive Hobby Articles Articles Via RSS!

Powered by Article Dashboard