What Are The Different Types Of Concrete Masonry Units Employed In Constructions?

By: Tariq Azeem

Before you look for a masonry block supplier in Aligarh Uttar Pradesh, let’s find out what are the different types of concrete masonry blocks out there.

Relying upon the shape, structure, size and making procedure concrete blocks masonry are mainly categorized into two types & they’re:

Solid concrete block

Hollow concrete block

Solid Concrete Block:

Made from thick aggregate solid concrete blocks are the most commonly used building blocks today. They’re pretty strong & offers great stability to the constructions. These blocks are suitable for load bearing walls for large construction work. They’re accessible in large sizes in comparison to bricks. Hence, it needs less time to manufacture concrete masonry compared to the brick ones.

Hollow Concrete Block:

Hollow blocks features void area greater than 25 percent of total area. The hollow part can be categorized into many components based on your need. They’re made from lightweight aggregates and are simple to install.

Hollow concrete blocks can be categorized into:

Stretcher blocks: Stretcher blocks are employed to link the corner in the construction. These blocks are also the most widely employed hollow concrete blocks in the construction works.
Corner blocks: These blocks are employed at corners of masonry. These corners maybe door or window openings etc. They’re installed in a way that their plane end noticeable to the exterior & other end is latched with stretcher blocks.

Pillar blocks: Also known as double corner blocks pillar blocks are generally employed when 2 ends of the corner are noticeable. These blocks are widely used when constructing pillars or piers.

Jamb blocks: These types of blocks are employed when there’s a large opening in the wall. They’re connected to corner and stretcher blocks. For double hung windows, these blocks are quite useful.

Partition blocks: These blocks are usually employed to construction partition walls. Partition blocks boast larger highet compared to their width. Hollow part is categorized into 2 or 3 section in case of partition concrete blocks.

Lintel blocks: Also, known as beam block, Lintel blocks are used to construct lintel beam. Lintel beams are usually provided on the top part of windows and doors, which tolerates the weight coming from the top. Concrete lintel blocks feature deep groove along the length of the block. After installing these blocks, this groove is filled with concrete with appropriate support.

Frogged blocks: These blocks feature a frog on its crown along with header & stretcher like frogged brick. This frog will aid the block to hold plaster and to create the strong bonding with the top laying blocks.

Bullnose blocks: These blocks are identical to corner blocks. But if you want rounded edges at corner bullnose concrete blocks are preferred.

Article Directory: http://www.articletrunk.com

| More

This article is written by Abysscorp, an an elite construction & manufacturing conglomerate established in Uttar Pradesh.

Please Rate this Article


Not yet Rated

Click the XML Icon Above to Receive Manufacturing Articles Articles Via RSS!

Powered by Article Dashboard