U.S. Men's Clay Court Championships is being hosted in Houston

By: Annie Brunson

This event is the 2nd longest-running USTA National Championship Title in the USA (the US Open has a longer history).
You'll find four former winners of this championship in the initial acceptance list. This includes Ryan Sweeting, the defending champion, Marcel Granollers (2008), Ivo Karlovic (2007), and Mardy Fish (2006), who is the world's No. 8.
Van Barry, the director of the tournament said in an interview that, "It is a great sign for the tournament to have so many players coming back to a place where they previously had success." He went on to say that, "This field represents a great mix of Americans as well as international stars. Some very accomplished clay court players, veteran talent and rising stars. We really feel there is something for every fan with this roster of players."
This tournament began in 1910 when the Western Lawn Tennis Association, which is now called the USTA/Midwest, lobbied the USLTA claiming that the National Clay Court Championship would help establish more clay courts in the West. The promotion of clay courts for tennis players is largely mainly because they cost less to put in and keep up. The first National Clay Court Championships were held at the Omaha (Nebraska) Field Club with a crowd of 5,000 in attendance at the finals. In 1914, the event moved to the Cincinnati Tennis Club and then moved to Houston, Texas.
The River Oaks Country Club is situated at 1600 River Oaks Boulevard in Houston. It is in the vicinity of Westheimer Road and Kirby Drive.
Tickets can be bought by calling 713-874-6294.

Article Directory: http://www.articletrunk.com

| More

Annie Brunson is a freelance writer. You can find out more about Houston at NewQuestCity Information Pages.

Please Rate this Article


Not yet Rated

Click the XML Icon Above to Receive Tennis Articles Articles Via RSS!

Powered by Article Dashboard